Our Leadership | Kentuckians For The Commonwealth

Our Leadership

Across Kentucky, in statewide and local campaigns, hundreds of KFTC leaders are deeply engaged and actively leading others. These leaders grow through skills training, mentoring, exchange with other groups and on-the-job practice.

Member leaders also govern our organization. Each chapter chooses a representative and alternate to the statewide Steering Committee. Members also serve on statewide issue committees such as Land Reform, Economic Justice, and New Energy & Transition, as well as governance committees like Personnel, Leadership Development and Finance.

Statewide Officers

Kathy Curtis

At-Large Representative

Kathy Curtis has been an active member of the Big Sandy Chapter since 2006. She’s served on KFTC's Economic Justice Committee, and participated in the KFTC Organizing Academy and the Just Transition Cohort. Last year Kathy served as Steering Committee Alternate, participated in Organizational Change Initiative, and continues to serve on KFTC’s Executive Leadership Transition Team. Kathy also has extensive experience in other community efforts. She was actively involved in Grow Appalachia, Community Farm Alliance, co-founded Appalachian Roots, and has hosted a radio show on WMMT telling the story of food and farming in the mountains. And Kathy was recently elected prioress of an ecumenical monastic community of women in the Benedictine tradition, the first non-Catholic in that community to hold that position. Kathy identifies as “a white (Scotch/Irish), CIS female, raised in Florida in the 50s and 60s, living in eastern Kentucky on Shawnee and eastern band Cherokee land. I am third generation low-wage earner and second-generation single parent.”

Tiff Duncan


Tiff Duncan has served on the Executive Committee for one year in the At-Large position. She’s also been an active leader in the CKY Chapter, serving on the Democracy Team, as the Steering Committee Representative, and as the alternate before that, and consistently helping with fundraising, tabling, and phonebanking. Tiff has also participated in the KFTC Academy, and lends support to KFTC’s statewide issue work.  Additionally, Tiff has been instrumental in hefty organizational work, like the Organizational Change Initiative and the IBB process with the KFTC staff union. Tiff brings a strong anti-oppression lens to her leadership at every level. She has both anchored and supported important pockets of disability justice work at KFTC, and she’s supported the CKY chapter in growing its racial awareness. Her insights are valued across the organization, as are her high expectations for KFTC, her thoughtfulness, and her collaborative approach. Tiff identifies as “fat, black, woman, cisgender, 33.”  

David Miller


David Miller is an active member in the Cumberland Chapter, and has served on the Steering Committee and KFTC's Leadership Development Committee, where his participation is valued and respected. He’s also been involved in the Poor People’s Campaign, serving as one of the tri-chairs. David has shown up (sometimes with his toothbrush) to plan, support, participate in actions, phonebank, and lead songs. He is the Director of Justice Initiatives at Union College, an ordained minister, and has been involved in the efforts to bring LGBTQ inclusion to the Methodist Church infrastructure. This year, David’s also served on the Executive Leadership Transition Team, where he’s encouraged and offered resources for alignment with the Organizational Change Initiative and KFTC’s ambition for our next 10 years. David identifies as “white, male, cishet, middle-income, over-educated, and Christian,” and has a track record of using his privileged identities for justice, equity, and belonging.

Ebony ORea

At-Large Representative

Ebony O'Rea is a long-time member of the Jefferson County Chapter. Ebony serves on KFTC's Leadership Development Committee and digs in on annual meetings where she’s helped plan workshops, facilitate, and participated in panels. This year, Ebony also has been active in the Organizational Change Initiative work, and was recruited to the Synthesis Team where she helped craft KFTC’s Big Hairy Audacious Goal and Vivid Description. Throughout the OCI process, Ebony helped many imagine and envision the next KFTC. Ebony identifies as a Black Woman.

Alan Smith


Alan Smith previously served as KFTC vice chair. He is an active member of the Southern Kentucky Chapter and has been dedicated to the chapter since he began to get involved right around the time the chapter was founded. Alan has served on KFTC's Economic Justice Committee and Voter Empowerment Strategy Team, and has served on the Steering Committee for three years and the Kentucky Coalition Board for one year. He’s continued to support statewide issues by participating in events like A Seat at the Table and Hear Our Health. Locally, he was active on Voter Empowerment Strategy and Voter Registration efforts, fundraising, and at-home lobby meetings. Alan has provided consistent, insightful, and reliable leadership to KFTC for many years.

Rebecca Tucker


Rebecca Tucker previously served on the Executive Committee as Secretary-Treasurer. Before that, she served as the Madison County Chapter Steering Committee representative and alternate. She’s been a valued leader, always asking quality questions and moving the work forward. Rebecca has also been active on KFTC’s Economic Justice Committee and Leadership Development Committee, and is an active supporter of local work, helping to plan chapter fundraisers, guiding and participating in local Democracy Team and issue work, and supporting Madison County’s interns and student workers. She is also a PhD student getting ready to start her dissertation. She serves on the board of the Ampersand Sexual Violence Resource Center. 

Chapter Representatives

Johnalma Barnett

Southern Kentucky Chapter Representative

Delores Butler

Jefferson County Chapter Representative

Lisa Garrison

Cumberland Chapter Representative

Susan Haddix

Madison County Chapter Representative

Rosanne Klarer

Rolling Bluegrass Chapter Representative

Luke Morgan

Central Kentucky Representative

Dan Nolet

Wilderness Trace Chapter Representative

Tiffany Pyette

Big Sandy Representative

Angela Rowe

Rowan County Alternate

Paul Schwartz

Northern Kentucky Representative


Katie Adams-Cornett

Rolling Bluegrass Chapter Alternate

Roberta Campbell

Northern Kentucky Alternate

Venus Evans

Cumberland Alternate

Annette Hines

Rowan County Chapter Alternate

Tina Jackson

Big Sandy Chapter Alternate

Jason Lowe

Southern Kentucky Chapter Alternate

Pony Meyer

Central Kentucky Chapter Alternate

Joe Myers

Wilderness Trace Alternate

Toby Wilcher

Madison County Chapter Alternate

Christine Xu

Jefferson County Chapter Alternate

Associate Chapters

Shelby County: Lynne Anderson